Files
pages/src/routes/blog/2026/0205.md

371 lines
35 KiB
Markdown
Raw Normal View History

2026-02-06 18:50:58 +01:00
<script lang="ts">
import SubtitledImage from "$lib/components/subtitled-image.svelte";
</script>
2026-02-05 22:56:53 +01:00
I just had a great idea: I should try to draw something every day for 4 weeks! 28 days, because that's a nice number. It's not too dissimilar from when I wrote an album for the February Album Writing Month, and though that album turned out awful, I was happy to have produced an album of sorts at all.
Why start now, instead of at the start of the month? Because I just came up with the idea. Why not wait for the start of next week or even next month? Because why delay, that's why. Except I will delay by starting tomorrow, not today, as it is night time and I'm about to head off to bed.
2026-02-06 18:50:58 +01:00
I'm posting this to hold myself accountable and to actually pull through instead of discarding the idea tomorrow let's hope it works! I will update this page with my drawings.
## Day 01
<SubtitledImage
image="01.webp"
altText="Drawing of day 1. A girl looking to the left. Her shoulder-long hair is flowing free. She is wearing a cropped t-shirt and a pair of jeans. Her left hand is on her hip."
subtitle="Result of day 1. I think she's pretty cool."
2026-02-07 20:53:28 +01:00
alignment="left" />
2026-02-06 18:50:58 +01:00
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-06, 18:47</span>
It's the first day of the challenge and I already thought about quietly deleting this post and pretending there never was a challenge to begin with. By around 3 PM I did manage to start though, and I drew something I'm pretty happy with.
I started with the head shape, which I later corrected to be a bit taller, since that was something I criticised in my own earlier drawings. I'm actually quite happy about her head and her face I think that something I, *relatively speaking!*, excel at. On the other hand, it feels like hair is something I struggle with the most. I wanted to avoid drawing yet another girl in quick succession with the same hair style, so I tried going for free-flowing hair, and it *kind of* worked out, but it also *kind of* looks odd. Definitely something I should go look at references for.
Similarly, I wanted to avoid drawing another girl with a sleeveless tank top, so I went for a slightly baggy cropped tee, and jeans just to have some extra detailing. I was quite happy about small details like the tee's sleeves wrapping around her arms, it made the drawing look just a *little* bit less flat.
Arms are troubling too, not because they're insanely difficult to draw, but because I never know where to place them <span class="small-supertext">just like mine irl</span>. I eventually settled on putting her left arm on her hip, which ended up quite cool.
I was too afraid to colour the drawing, worried I'd ruin it, but if I had done so, I'd have given her purple eyes. Don't know why, but that's the one colour detail about this drawing that I was sure of.
2026-02-07 20:53:28 +01:00
Not sure what to draw next, but I think I'll either go for another person but from a different perspective, or an object.
## Day 02: Struggle
<SubtitledImage
image="02.webp"
altText="Drawings of day 2. The drawings include a black silhouette of a girl taken from the Bad Apple music video, a smiling water tower, a tuna fish, a tuna fish can, a character with shoulder-length hair looking to the right, and one without hair looking somewhat straight."
subtitle="Day 2 was a day of struggling."
alignment="right" />
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-07, 20:52</span>
Well... I persevered. That's probably the most positive thing I can say for today. Urge to delete the post and quit the challenge was strong.
I didn't really know what to draw, so I started copying a frame from the beginning of Bad Apple, which I first wanted to detail but then decided to fill black because the details looked bad.
Out of ideas, I looked up above my monitor and stared at the vinyl record sleeve for underscores' Fishmonger album, so I drew the water tower on the cover. Fittingly, I tried copying a tuna fish I found online, and then drew the can with no reference (can you tell?).
I was then *slightly* motivated after watching [this video on drawing](https://youtu.be/XeIR7P82aPU) by pikat and drew first the head in the bottom left, then the one bottom centre. I kinda like the head shape of the bottom left one.
I think something that's definitely hindering me is a lack of direction, and possibly motivation too, just like with my other projects. I don't really know what to draw, how to draw, what to improve. I'll try watching some more videos, but I'm a bit afraid of falling into the tutorial trap and not being able to draw things without 1:1 reference. I do actually have a handful of ideas I'd like to draw, but I feel I'm not skilled enough to successfully draw them, so I'm kind of holding off on trying them.
2026-02-08 11:50:35 +01:00
Honestly: this felt super stressful to do today! I felt like I had to perform, but I kept postponing all day, just to feel the need to churn out something in the final hours of the day. Being done for the day feels like a relief, but tomorrow's attempt is already looming on the horizon.
## Day 03
<SubtitledImage
image="03.webp"
altText="A copy of Asuka from Neon Genesis Evangelion."
subtitle="An attempt was made."
alignment="left" />
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-08, 11:45</span>
Last night, I remembered some screencaps I took of Neon Genesis Evangelion as reference material for 3D modelling and decided I could try to use it as reference for drawing as well. So I did! I tried to draw Asuka.
I started with the head shape and definitely immediately screwed up, as I made her chin way too long. The eyes didn't turn out too bad; definitely a little better than yesterday's attempt at perspective.
Tried to do shadows/shading as well, and it turned out kind of neat, though obviously without much thought as it's clearly just a carbon copy.
2026-02-10 19:01:00 +01:00
I'm wondering whether I should try to trace some art, just to get a feel for dimensions? Again though, I don't want to depend on tracing, so I'm a bit wary of trying it.
## Day 05: An Uptick
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-10, 18:55</span>
Listening to some good music. Signing my work contract so I'll be out of unemployment from tomorrow (don't worry it was planned). I'm in a good fucking mood, here we go.
I didn't draw yesterday unfortunately, but I didn't do this to quit the challenge! I was just really busy I was out and about from 9 in the morning to 9 in the evening, and considering how bad I felt after day 3 of drawing, I didn't exactly feel like picking up the pencil this late in the day either. I bought an IKEA [Tertial](https://www.ikea.com/de/de/p/tertial-arbeitsleuchte-dunkelgrau-50355395/) lamp which gives way better lighting for drawing than my room lights do. Yay to setup improvements!
<SubtitledImage
image="05.webp"
altText="An array of anime faces, all looking to the left. A few eyes are also in the corner. The references used for the faces are displayed as well, bearing some but not too much resemblance."
2026-02-10 19:01:00 +01:00
subtitle="A few cute faces, drawn using references but not relying on them 100%!"
alignment="right" />
I drew a couple of faces again. It looks like this is the direction I'm heading in. Before I started drawing anything, I watched one of PewDiePie's videos on how he learned to draw I don't usually watch his videos, but I remembered that he challenged himself to learn to draw as well, and that he was quite successful. It managed to spark some motivation in me, so the first thing I did was try to copy one of the girls he drew (she's on one of his thumbnails as well). I changed some small things like placing the ear a little higher. I don't like this type of style quite *as* much (see the note about the nose next to the drawing) but it still turned out quite cool and I like her.
I then experimented with some eyes, from open to closed. The big closed eye at the bottom was actually copied from a screenshot of [Laura with her eyes closed](/projects/projectn5/devlog/2025/1022/#blinking)! I then used this very screenshot as a reference to draw Laura as well!
It was pretty cool to draw my own character, I gotta say. I drew her head noticeably shorter than on the screenshot, which resulted in a more chibi-style look. It's cute, I think.
The third girl, in the bottom left, was half-freely drawn. I drew her eyes and then her head shape while trying to draw a smiling/happy girl. I then had no idea for the hair, so I used a reference I got from [a pikat video](https://youtu.be/XeIR7P82aPU?t=91) for that. I specifically wanted to draw a girl with a different style of nose than the PewDiePie reference, and it worked out!
I found that I tend to draw some things too big. Noses turn out too long, eyebrows turn out too wide or too high. It might also be because I keep drawing with dull pencils. I like that they're easily erasable, but the lines are never as sharply defined as I'd like them to be, so I keep redrawing lines which just makes them thicker. That's a problem I didn't have with [my first drawing](/blog/2026/0129/); maybe I should try to draw with different pens as well? I was even thinking of trying digital, I even installed Krita on my Surface tablet, but I haven't dabbled much with that yet.
All the girls I drew are also looking towards the left. I'm assuming this is because I'm right-handed and it's easier to draw the lines I need for a left-facing face than for a right-facing one. Nevertheless, I should definitely try to draw some right-facing characters as well. I think it'll help with symmetry (something I also struggle with).
2026-02-11 20:58:07 +01:00
Overall feeling very good about today's drawings much better than two days ago!
## Day 06
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-11, 20:56</span>
I didn't have any kind of clear goal for today, but I did enjoy the sketching. After watching [Eddy Burback's video](https://youtu.be/nnsyGSTKlw0) on how he locked away his phone and lived a largely more enjoyable life because of it, I chose to not listen to music or watch any video while drawing. It was quite a serene experience.
<SubtitledImage
image="06.webp"
altText="An assortment of hands, legs, bodies and heads sketched on a piece of paper using a pencil."
subtitle="today was a rubberless% kinda run"
alignment="left" />
For the most part, I was just testing thing without sticking to just faces. Most importantly perhaps: no perfectionism! I didn't use my eraser *once!* The focus was on trying more rather than perfecting one single drawing. It did work to my benefit, in a way; I drew bodies, heads, even hands.
I talked to a friend of mine earlier today about drawing. Thing is, she's a pro at it. She's been donig it for ages, she's studying art too, and she does insanely cool paintings. She did give me quite a few tips when we talked, but I did notice that a bit of it was way above my level. At one point, she started sketching a realistic eye, telling me about minute details like the positioning of eyelashes, and while I didn't see a direct connection between her advice and my drawings, I listened and watched in awe as she drew a really good-looking eye from what I assume is just experience and possibly my eyes as a partial reference.
We also talked about perfectionism and how it can be beneficial to draw without erasing constantly like how I drew [my drawing from two weeks ago](/blog/2026/0129/) using a ballpoint pen instead of a pencil. No going back using that. I did intend to use a gel pen today, but I kind of shied away from it for now. Thinking about it now, a ballpoint pen may be better actually, because it draws finer and less bold lines.
She also encouraged me to take a sketchbook with me wherever I go. I mostly already do that, but today for example I didn't as I didn't bring my backpack with me. I should have a small notebook lying around somewhere one that I intended to use for drawing years ago but never used so I'll try and find that.
She also encouraged me to try figure drawing; using nude(ish) human bodies as drawing references to learn anatomy and things like body flow. I may try that soon, because I definitely find myself struggling to draw characters in poses.
2026-02-12 21:56:23 +01:00
To comment a bit on the drawings: the heads look weird, I think I'll practice them a little more tomorrow, maybe. The body went in a decent direction but the hips look like they're pointed in the opposite way than I intended. For the big hand, I used my own left hand as a reference, but with the details it started to look kind of witch-like. The smaller hand I drew right after looks a little cuter. The legs up top, which actually were the first thing I drew today, look okay. I like the curvature in the right foot.
## Day 07: \\__*
2026-02-13 21:28:52 +01:00
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-12, 21:55</span>
2026-02-12 21:56:23 +01:00
I found the small notebook and went for ballpoint pen sketches today.
Patrick was the first drawing today, completely separate from all the other stuff too. I kind of just drew him to show some people at university as an IRL reaction sticker. Still wanted to include him here.
<SubtitledImage
image="07.webp"
altText="An assortment of sketches drawn using a blue ballpoint pen. On the left is Patrick from the show SpongeBob showing a thumbs-down in a booing pose. On the right are some heads, one of which mimicking the look of the musician Jaron on the cover of his album LIGHTYEARS. A hand and two attempts at drawing crossed legs are also depicted."
subtitle="seven days a week, it's time to make it count"
alignment="right" />
I looked at some people on the bus today (shocker, I know) and one person on my way back home from uni made me realise that I had kind of fucked up ear placement, neck flow, and head shape for a while. From a 45-degree angle, the ear is fully visible but it's still mostly within the head silhouette. I then drew the drawing in the top left to try this out, and it did look more natural. I think the head turned out a little too narrow, but quite decent still.
Although I just looked at myself in the mirror and what I just wrote wasn't exactly what I'd seen so I'm not entirely sure.
As I was listening to *LIGHTYEARS* by Jaron, I stared at Jaron's face on the album cover when I decided I could try to draw him. **HIM??**
yeah i drew a guy for the first time. 7 days in.
The first try went pretty goblin with a massively oversized ear, so I tried again, and it's definitely recognisable, I'd say. I found it interesting how his head is drawn with way straighter lines than all the girls I had drawn up to now, where all shapes are much more curvy and wavy. Just look at his neck; it's so straight and thick compared to, say, the head in the top left.
I also tried drawing his right hand fully as in, not obscured by his head and it went eeeehhh
2026-02-13 21:28:52 +01:00
Lastly, I attempted to draw crossed legs from a front perspective. Turns out, I really didn't know what I was doing lol. Trying to figure out where the legs go, where and how they cross, and how they connect to the body is a challenge, and I was doing it with no reference! Probably a mistake.
## Day 08: Bulbous Buttocks
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-13, 21:30</span>
Today felt quite forced again.
<SubtitledImage
image="08.webp"
altText="Some faces drawn with a blue ballpoint pen. Some of them are not filled with facial features, and some are scribbled over. The bottom of Captain Qwark as seen in the game Ratchet & Clank: Tools of Destruction is also drawn."
subtitle="these impeccable glutes and bulbous buttocks!"
alignment="left" />
I waited with drawing until late in the day again unfortunately, which meant I felt this need to draw despite not really having the motivation to do so.
Actually, I did have one thing I wanted to try and draw; I saw a person standing at the tram stop earlier today, wearing a beanie, and I wanted to try and draw her. My version definitely doesn't look like her, but I mostly wanted to use the opportunity to try and draw a) a beanie, b) the hairstyle, and c) eyes from a side perspective.
I then tried copying another one of PewDiePie's sketches (I still had the tab open) and failed lol. I then messed up trying to copy another drawing. After that, I wanted to draw Captain Qwark but ended up drawing his rear end because it was the first picture of him I could find on my PC.
Minor looking through my Pinterest pins got me to try and draw a guy wearing a Mario hat and looking up at the sky, which went poorly, and then I also kind of messed up drawing the type of head I thought I could do kind of okay.
2026-02-14 21:37:45 +01:00
Not the best day, and I am once again questioning why I am doing this challenge, but I guess I gotta see this through to the end.
## Day 09: Gaining Perspective
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-14, 21:36</span>
<SubtitledImage
image="09-small.webp"
altText="An anime face, an outline of a face, and a scribbled-out head shape drawn with a blue ballpoint pen, and a head shape drawn with a pencil. Only the last one has construction lines creating a depth effect."
subtitle="freely drawing. no guidance. no goal. kind of demotivating."
alignment="right" />
Today, I had some ideas for things I could try to copy (still abstaining from tracing!). Among those things were a picture of Anna (Anna_Chess) and Kevin (Call Me Kevin) as well as a random anime-style girl I probably screenshotted a few days ago for this specific purpose. The first one didn't work out AT ALL because of how little I knew about perspective, and the second one turned out... okay.
I then decided to look up tutorials, which was a *very* good idea.
I found someone recommending mikeymegamega's videos, so I checked out his channel. I found a lot of videos, most of them too advanced for me and also quite... horny... but nonetheless very interesting. I ended up watching [this video](https://youtu.be/_05or04sGAo) on mapping characters' heads and faces. I think this video assumed knowledge of prior videos, which I obviously haven't watched yet, but it was still pretty simple to follow along.
<SubtitledImage
image="09-big.webp"
altText="Anime-style heads drawn using a pencil. All of them have construction lines and are looking in different directions, which are distinctly recognisable."
subtitle="following mikeymegamega's tutorial. i'm actually able to learn perspective and proper drawing techniques through this..?!"
alignment="left" />
You can notice the point at which I started following along with the tutorial because I switched back to my pencil and started using construction lines (see I'm learning terminology!!). I also switched to my A5 notebook because the pocket-sized one was too small; in fact, in retrospect I wish I had drawn much bigger, like almost page-filling, because these small drawings + using a somewhat dull pencil starkly inhibited my ability to draw details.
It was actually quite fun to follow along and see drawings come 'alive' through my own doing. 'Alive' is relative here as watching the whole tutorial reveals the skill level mikeymegamega's at, and the final results are insane. It's crazy what someone can do with just a pencil and some paper.
He talked about perspective, head shape, face proportions, and it stuck just a bit better since I was able to follow along at the exact spots where these things were relevant. My drawings are nowhere as good as his, but I'm still quite happy about how these went, and they kind of motivate me to keep going!
I'm not the type to watch tutorials very often, but this proved to me once again that it can be really helpful to do that sometimes; especially when you're struggling with motivation!
2026-02-15 22:02:02 +01:00
Oh and also, very important: this tutorial of his quite literally started with drawing a simple circle for the head, which I struggled with so much I almost got frustrated. While practicing it though, I discovered that it's way easier to draw a shape like a circle when I'm using my arm to draw instead of my wrist! Drawing big shapes with your wrists is difficult because they need to bend weirdly to stretch to the dimensions needed, whereas the arm allows for a much smoother motion with these sizeable shapes.
## Day 10
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-15, 22:02</span>
<SubtitledImage
image="10.webp"
altText="Two anime-style heads. Both are looking to the left, but one has their head tilted to the right. Both are drawn using a pencil and contain construction lines to mark out the general shape."
subtitle="picking a cool pose can make quite the difference."
alignment="right" />
For today's part of the challenge, I mostly tried to continue with mikeymegamega's approach I learned yesterday. It went okay!
I first did the head on the right. The head actually looks quite big, gives me Megamind vibes maybe some hair would make it blend better. I think it turned out okay overall, though a bit boring. Perhaps the ear is a bit small.
The second drawing, on the left, looks more interesting, I think. I went back to the video and used a still image as a reference. I found myself erasing and re-tracing a lot. Since I had a *bit* more of a goal here than I did a few days ago, I wasn't quite as bothered by this though. The perspective isn't ideal (nose/mouth look a tiny bit off), but the pose makes me like the second one quite a bit more!
I was actually kind of bothered by my tools today more so than by my skills. I noticed that my eraser kept leaving red marks, and the paper of the notebook I'm using is pretty thin, so previous drawings shine through (more noticeable in-person than on the scan). Worse yet, when I try to finalise lines and draw them with more pressure, they press through to 2-3 pages after. I'll get a new eraser tomorrow probably, but we'll see about the notebook, I don't want to chuck away this one after only having used it for a couple of days.
I wonder what I should draw next. Maybe I'll try using a photo as a reference pic and draw the head of a person using this technique; learn how to evaluate and draw poses on my own, without the guidance of a tutorial.
2026-02-16 21:46:20 +01:00
That type of freedom is my end goal.
## Day 11
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-16, 21:45</span>
Getting up to draw today was not easy. It's not that I dreaded drawing necessarily, but I feel it going the same way as my other hobbies: it's so hard to start. I don't know why I always struggle with motivation like this, but I haven't found a fix for it yet either.
Admittedly, I didn't draw quite as much today as I need to head to bed soon; I have to go to work early tomorrow. Still, I could have drawn earlier in the day, when I had time for it... I did plan to do exactly that, actually. For several days now, actually. I can never muster up the motivation to do it, unfortunately.
<SubtitledImage
image="11.webp"
altText="The head of a character looking upwards. To their right is a tube as well as a cube with the text 'BLENDER DEFAULT CUBE'."
subtitle="they're looking up, kind of, but i'm not sure what exactly they're looking at."
alignment="left" />
Anyway: I drew this head with no direct reference! I mostly drew it freely and only looked back at yesterday's drawings to confirm some positioning. I also used a fineliner to draw the final lines instead of using excessive force with my pencil. Created some nicer lines, though of course it makes them 100% final, so there's a big risk of fucking up.
I used a little test drawing (in the top left) to roughly sketch out the perspective, and it worked out decently.
Afterwards, I didn't really know what to do because I'm kind of getting bored of drawing the same heads with no changes really, and I don't know how to properly draw something else either. I watched another one of mikeymegamega's videos, this one on [basic shapes](https://youtu.be/gMjpAYASbC8), so I drew some *forms*. Of course the cube reminded me of a much more familiar cube.
2026-02-17 22:33:12 +01:00
mikeymegamega's "Beginner Drawing Tutorial" series continues with videos on shading and perspective; I'm not sure whether I'll watch them soon, because they don't feel right for me currently. Something something too advanced, also not the direction I want to head right now. They did remind me of school, however. I remember that in art class, we often had to do things like draw a scene in a vanishing point perspective, or try to copy our own eye or something. Retrospectively... I felt very underprepared for that. I hardly knew how to draw, so trying these things, while fun, wasn't exactly ideal. I do recall others struggling with the perspective in particular and finding the challenge frustrating rather than enjoyable. Who knows whether that influenced their perspective on creating art.
## Day 12: Close Your Eyes
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-17, 22:32</span>
So I bought this book today.
<SubtitledImage
image="12-book.webp"
altText="The book 'Manga zeichnen leicht gemacht' by HIkaru Hayashi. It's a German version and it depicts three manga-style girls on its cover."
subtitle="this one" />
I went to a flea market store (yes that's not a mistake; an indoor flea market-like business) with friends earlier today, and I discovered this book on drawing manga characters. It's issue 5 in its series and focusses on 'bishoujo' characters, which the book also refers to as 'beautiful girls'. I'll be honest I felt a bit awkward picking up this book, especially since some of its contents are kind of... horny-coded. Not unlike mikeymegamega's videos, I suppose. But there are a lot of cool references and tips in this book, like on dimensions of body and face parts, positioning and its respective effects, etc. I initially put the book back down, but after like 10 minutes of thinking that I'd kinda like to take the book with me, I finally bought it. Finding *this* book, a guide for a style I personally want to go for, in the middle of a drawing challenge? It can't have been coincidence.
<SubtitledImage
image="12.webp"
altText="Three drawings of manga-style girls, all with closed eyes. The top left one has shorter hair and a content facial expression. The top right one is drawn from a side profile view and is shouting. The bottom drawing is of one with long tied-up hair."
subtitle="I like the top two ones; the right one shouting, and the left one completely content"
alignment="right" />
I had a look through more than half the book and found some drawings I wanted to try and copy. Of course, I used the technique (singular) I had previously learned to accomplish this, and it worked out quite decently.
I still struggle with perspective, that's for sure. The bottom one isn't quite looking in the direction I intended her to, though she still looks ok. I quite like the top left one. There's a bit of authenticity in the drawing with the construction lines, which I oddly like. I also drew the top right one just because it looked fun and I wanted to try it. I like the exaggerated emotions you can depict in this artstyle; not something I'm *quite* ready to experiment with yet I am still lacking lots of basics but I copied this one just to get a feel for it.
Honestly? I think the heads I draw look pretty alright. I think if I keep practicing just the heads, it'll get boring, so I may try to do bodies/torsos next, just to keep things interesting. Combine torsos and heads to match their sizing. I feel like I'm slowly getting the hang of both drawing and finding resources for drawing.
Oh, and hair. Hair is a big challenge. mikeymegamega has a video on that; I may watch that tomorrow. I think hair can make the drawings look SO much more interesting, so I'm both afraid (due to its difficulty (I assume)) and excited for it.
On a related note, sometimes I look at the framed picture of Snatcher from A Hat in Time on my desk and I think to myself that I'd like to draw him. Now I'm thinking that I'd like to draw him in this manga style.
2026-02-18 23:08:29 +01:00
I would fucking love that.
## Day 13: A New Hope
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-18, 23:08</span>
Had a small crisis. Still had a really good drawing day. Let's go.
So as I had written yesterday, I wanted to start to practice drawing bodies today. In order to learn how to do that, I first turned to mikeymegamega to find a video on the topic. This was already a pretty tough task.
Most of his videos are so... horny. Yeah I can't think of a better word. *So many* videos on drawing huge female features, when I just want to learn how to draw a body at all. Add to this the fact that the one video of his from 11 years ago I found where he mostly went over the basics of drawing a body, he still went with the 'now let's draw some huge boobs' shtick, plus he used some pretty derogatory language, and that evoked enough discomfort to make me find a different way to learn what I wanted to learn.
<SubtitledImage
image="13-1.webp"
altText="Pencil sketches of three female bodies drawn using a method where a triangle represents the torso, from the shoulders to the crotch, and then the rest of the outline is filled in afterwards. The first one has a raised right leg, while the other two ones are standing straight. The middle one has the comment 'too long?' written next to it, while the right one is noted as 'better'."
subtitle="my initial body drawing trials. they went pretty decently actually"
alignment="left" />
I then wanted to find another YouTube video on the topic, but I don't like going through random videos because they could be of dubious quality. That's something I can evaluate well when it's a topic I know a lot about, but with drawing I really need some good guidance.
Then I thought... I just bought that book on drawing manga characters. There's a section on drawing bodies. Might as well make the most of it. And so I did!
The book went with the approach of drawing a triangle between the shoulders and the crotch to represent the torso, and then adding curves for the shoulders and hips. It's pretty simple, actually, so I didn't really need more guidance than the few reference pictures on the page. I started off by copying one of the drawings (on the left), which had a girl sitting with her legs crossed, though I did not draw the other leg. I then tried two bodies of my own.
It's so important to just freely practice, because it allows you to identify areas you need to work on. I don't do it enough. Here I noticed that my first body drawn without reference (middle) looked too long for my liking, so I fixed it in the second one (right)!
After that, I wanted to combine my learned knowledge and draw a body *with a head!* But what exactly should I draw...?
<SubtitledImage
image="13-2.webp"
altText="A pencil drawing of a girl looking to the left. She is wearing a cropped loose tee and jeans, while her right hand is hinted to rest on her hip. The drawing starkly resembles the girl drawn on day 1 of the challenge."
subtitle="it's day 1 girl and she looks SO MUCH BETTER i'm so enamoured with her"
alignment="right" />
And then I had an idea.
*What if I try to re-draw one of my previous drawings?*
And so I did!
I drew a fresh interpretation of [the girl I drew on day 1](#day-01), and I gotta say it turned out *so good.* I really *really* like it because this has given me the chance to compare my skill at the start of the challenge to my skill now. It honestly feels like a huge change already.
I think the biggest changes are dimensions and shape. Facial features and her overall body are just sized more appropriately than before. The rounded body shape, especially around her torso and hips, looks way more interesting. There's perspective too!! Her shirt flows more nicely. At the front of her trousers, there's a small curve that gives just a hint of depth. Her shoulders are tilted and it looks *so* cool. I'm actually really glad I re-drew the initial body triangle early on to give her that tilted pose.
I decided to omit the hands because I figured I'd screw them up (haven't learned them yet, after all), and I *really* didn't want to fuck up this drawing. I also didn't go over the sketch with a fineliner to trace the outlines, also because I was worried I'd fuck up the drawing.
Don't get me wrong, this isn't a masterpiece by any stretch of the imagination. I'm just so hyped because this may just be one of the best things I have drawn so far, and it shows that I have genuinely made progress in this challenge.
This has me really excited for what's to come. Maybe this hasn't all been in vain? Maybe all of this effort might *actually* lead to an improvement in my drawing skill after all?? There's finally some method to my madness, and it's visibly starting to pay off. I'm now very motivated to learn more about drawing body parts (which I also wrote next to the sketch lol) to make my future drawings even better.
2026-02-19 22:07:18 +01:00
Also, just on a side note: I finally bought a new eraser, and it's way better than my previous one. Leaves way less residue after erasing too. I did also notice though that I've sketched more lightly than I did these past few days, which I think is a good thing.
## Day 14
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-19, 22:06</span>
<SubtitledImage
image="14.webp"
altText="A head drawn using a pencil. It has sketch lines and a roughly-sketched short hairstyle."
subtitle="trying to get better at hair"
alignment="left" />
This is just a quick drawing to show that I did anything at all today. I considered skipping because I was, frustratingly, busy for longer than I'd have liked today, and I'm also not feeling super well. I figured though that it would be better to do any amount of drawing because it'll keep me in the rhythm.
2026-02-20 20:50:47 +01:00
I started following a mikeymegamega tutorial on hair (trying to pick out the tutorials that aren't horny af) and followed along with drawing the first head. It's interesting so far because I haven't really had a feeling for three-dimensionally mapping out hair yet. It feels like something that could be quite complicated, but I'm in for the ride.
## Day 15: sick
<span class="date-marker">2026-02-20, 20:50</span>
No drawing today. I'm feeling unwell and I can't get myself to start drawing. It feels like I'm on the tail end of a sickness, but this only started yesterday, so I don't know where this is going, but I do trust my immune system to get me back up to speed soon.
<SubtitledImage
image="15-paper.webp"
altText="A Gerstaecker-branded art pad."
subtitle="this paper is almost too nice for my drawings."
alignment="right" />
I did go outside early-ish in the day today, partly to catch some fresh air (which did make me feel a little better), and also to get new art supplies! Nothing too fancy; I bought an art pad with higher-weight paper than what my current notebook has: 180g/m² instead of 80g/m². This'll most assuredly help with the sketches shining through pages. It also has a different paper texture. It's a little rougher. Actually, each sheet has a finer and a rougher side, which is pretty cool.
I bought this at an art supply store, which felt a bit odd to do. Last time I went there, I was there with a friend who's really into art (also studying art and painting her own paintings, really cool stuff). I never really had a reason to go to that store unfortunately, because my hobbies just didn't align with their inventory. Until now!
I wasn't, and still am not, sure whether a pad is better than a book, because it means I'll have loose sheets instead of a cohesive book. I can't carry this with me quite as easily. However, not having a book means I'll be less worried about fucking up a drawing and 'spoiling' the book (which is a silly concept anyway).
Anyway, I'll try to rest for the remainder of the day. I'll drink some tea and lie in bed. Hopefully be back with cool drawings tomorrow.
ok... you get a small doodle. just so i did *something* today.
<SubtitledImage
image="15-doodle.webp"
altText="Facial features drawn on top of blue text that reads 'credits'. There are eyebrows, bright green eyes, a nose, and a frowning mouth. The face is facing left."
subtitle="the left eye almost matches the perspective. almost" />